News & Events

Fellows Accomplishments keep rolling in

February 10, 2016   |   Maggie Padek

Now that we are well on our way into 2016, the accomplishments of our 2014 cohort just keep rolling in!


Monica Wang has been honored with this year’s Society of Behavioral Medicine’s 2016 early Career Investigator Award. Her award will be presented on Thursday, March 31st during the Presidential Keynote and Awards Ceremony at SBM’s 2016 annual Meeting & Scientific Session in Washington D.C. March 30-April 2nd.


Cynthia Perry has received funding for an R03 that is based on work she completed during her time at the 2014 summer institute. Details are below:

1R03CA197657-01, Fuerte y Sanas: Adaptation of an Exercise and Nutrition Program for Rural Latinas, funding period: July 1, 2015-June 30 2017.  The goal of this grant is to culturally adaptation of an exercise and nutrition program for rural Latinas and test the effectiveness of the adapted program. The long term goal is to then disseminate this adapted program.

She has also received an intramural grant through OSHU school of Nursing. This grant application was directly from her work at the MT DIRC in June 2015 regarding implementing an exercise program for breast cancer survivors.  Here are the details: OHSU School of Nursing Innovations Grant Program, Preliminary Work for Implementation of an Exercise Program for Breast Cancer Survivors , funding period Jan. 1, 2016-December 31, 2017.  The goal is to collect preliminary data through survey and focus groups in order to prepare a competitive R21 NIH grant application on the implementation of an exercise program within the health care system that improves bone strength and body composition in breast cancer survivors.  The long term goal is to disseminate this program within other health care systems.


Sarah Birken and Erin Hahn have received a Cancer Research Network, Opportunity  Funding for a survivorship grant. This project is a result of a collaboration that was initiated during the 2014 summer Institute.


Congratulations to all the hard work of our MT-DIRC fellows!